Gravlax part 2 & scalloped potato gratin

So, this is long overdue, I promised to show how the salmon turned out, but I got lazy and forgetful, sorry.

I accidentally left the salmon in the fridge a bit too long, and I might have added a bit too much salt, because the salmon got a bit too dry at the edges. But I just cut off those pieces, so if it happens to you too, don’t worry, there’s nothing wrong with the salmon.

Take out the salmon from the bag over a sink, it will be filled with liquids from the salmon and you don’t want that all over you, so be careful. Brush or rinse of the salt completely. Then slice into thin slices.

Bild 1

Bild 4

And there you go, beautiful homemade Gravlax! Yummy too!

I served the Gravlax with scalloped potato gratin. It’s so simple to make, it practically cooks itself in the oven. But remember to give yourself time, because sometimes, depending on the potato, it can take forever to be done.

What you need is:

Potatoes

1 small onion

About 1 cup of heavy cream (add more if needed)

Salt, pepper, garlic

Cheese

This recipe is good for 3-4 people. Slice potatoes into thin slices (the thinner the faster the cook in the oven), chop onion, mix spices into the heavy cream. Butter a form, add half of the potatoes, all of the onion and half of the cream. Add the rest of the potatoes and cream.

Bild 2

I wanted to try something new, as always. So I added blue cheese, I love blue cheese, so I thought it’d be a good idea!

Bild 3

So blue cheese and then lots of shredded cheese!!!

I think I had mine in the oven for almost and hour and a half, might have been longer. At 425°F. It tasted great, however, it would not have won a beauty contest! The blue cheese kinda messed it up, it was delicious, but maybe next time I’ll stick to no blue cheese, to make it look pretty.

IMG_2839

So there you have it, Gravlax and Scalloped potato gratin!

Enjoy

Carolina

Leave a Reply

