Gravlax

A simple typical Swedish dish, we usually eat around Christmas or Easter. In America a lot of people eat it on top of a cream cheese bagel. Which is pretty god damn delicious too! Only problem is that it’s so expensive to buy here, so I make my own!

It’s super simple to make, you need:

1 kg raw Salmon

200 g of Salt

150 g of Sugar

Some pepper

Last time I did this recipe, I thought it came out too sweet, (i.e too much sugar), so I added some more salt this time.

Take a nice big middle piece of the salmon.

Mix salt, sugar and pepper. If you want to add some other spices, go for it. I added some pepper mix that I had. It’s very common to add dill as well, but I prefer it without sometimes.

IMG_2805

Wet your hands with some water and rub the salt mixture against the salmon, one side at the time.

IMG_2810

Wrap the fish tightly in plastic wrap and put it in the fridge. If you can, put something heavy on the fish while it’s in the fridge. I placed my fish on a plate and put another plate on top of it and a cartoon of milk on top of that. It’s suppose to be pressed tightly together.

IMG_2813

Let it sit in the fridge for 24 – 48 hours, before you slice it. When have the time has past, turn it around. I’m letting mine sit for 48 hours, so tomorrow I will flip the salmon around and on Thursday I will show you have to turned out!

When you take it out of the fridge, scrape of the spices before you slice the salmon into thin fine slices.

Carolina

Leave a Reply

