London!

London

Last year I went to visit London, and even though it was only for a couple of days, it was enough to see the most popular buildings and historical parts of this beautiful city.

I loved being there, it was a great weekend and I’m about to show you the things that I loved the most about it.

Big Ben1

All Big Ben

Big Ben is the nickname for the great bell of the clock at the north end of the Palace of Westminster in London, officially named Elizabeth Tower. This Tower holds the largest four-faced chiming clock in the world and is the third-tallest free-standing clock tower. It’s now 153 years old and in 31 May 2013 it’s gonna be 154 years. This great and huge tower was completed in 1858 and has become one of the most prominent symbols of England and of course London.

I loved seeing the Big Ben, because everyone knows it, but see it in front of you it’s completely different,  it’s beautiful, magic, and I can’t even describe more about that. If you think of visiting this city, you really should go there and see the tower with your eyes, because pictures can show you the beauty of the thing, but seeing it, you can feel all the magic.

Funny fact, this clock is considered one of the most effective and correct clocks in the world, it never misses a beat.

Buckingham Palace Palace2

Buckingham Palace is the official London residence and principal workplace of the British monarch; it’s located in the City of Westminster.
The palace is also the most touristic places to visit.
Originally known as Buckingham House, this building which forms the core of today’s palace was a large townhouse built for the Duke of Buckingham in 1705.

When I got there, it was so crowded we couldn’t even see it well, but we saw it all including the guards just standing in there, I found them so funny, because they can’t move and some people say jokes and try to get a smile from them, but without success, they can’t move a muscle. I was a bit shocked in the beginning, I didn’t knew about that fact, but then I started to question myself: “What if the guy have a tummy ache?” Ahahha.

r_seaman@hotmail.com

London Eye 1

The London Eye is the beautiful giant wheel in the south part of the Thames river, in London. The entire structure is 135 meters (443 ft) tall and 129 meters (394 ft) diameter. It’s now the most visited tourist attraction in the UK, visited by over 3.5 million people annually. It was built in 1999.
We went up there and it really is amazing and jaw dropping inspiring to see the whole city from there, check out a few photos we took:

When I saw this giant wheel, I said: “OMG, it’s hugeee!!! I wanna go there!”, so we did and saw the city from the sky. It was the most beautiful experience that I ever had, it’s beautiful and incredible how they could build such a huge attraction for tourists right in the middle of London. Needless to say there was a gigantic line of tourists, waiting for their chance to see London with a different perspective.

London Eye 2

Also, here’s a little tip for those visiting London, I really recommend you to visit a Portuguese restaurant called O Cantinho de Portugal (137 Stockwell Road) and the Portuguese grocery store (which is right next to the restaurant). I’m a bit suspicious to talk about Portuguese food, but I can assure you that you’re gonna love it, we have one of the richest gastronomy in the world. And it’s not far from the Big Ben (10 minute walk), and they have good prices too. You have GOT to try the natas, our specialty pastry.

natas

If you opt for a meal, here’s two of the delicious options, Bacalhau com Natas, and Bitoque.

Untitled-1

So, I really loved being there and all but I havent told you the “real” reason we visited, there’s this famous trance band called Above&Beyond that we love, we got to see a special gig from them at the Brixton Academy. Here’s a photo of me after the gig… you can tell I jumped a lot 😛

Academy Me

Hope you enjoyed it!

Lili

6 thoughts on “London!

Leave a Reply

